Love & Life

As we all know, today is a day that red, pink and white are everywhere we turn. The air is filled with the fragrance of flowers and chocolate and stuffed animals are bounding off to their new homes. Advertisers make their focus on the love and romance between partners but don’t they realize that for many of us, we have more than one love?

As a mother of a 5 and 7 year-old little girls, I have found a love so pure, so deep and on a completely different level than I had ever imagined. This was surprising for me because for the first thirty-two years of my life, I was sure I never wanted children. I knew and had been told that I would never be a good mother, I was too focused on myself and wouldn’t be nurturing. Then I met my husband, saw him interact with his nieces and nephews and I began to wonder if I was wrong. Imagine my surprise, and everyone else’s who knew me, that when I held my daughter in my arms that my entire life, goals, purpose changed. My heart grew more than that silly Grinch’s of four times.

So this Valentine’s, as I was buying a card and chocolates for my husband, I also bought chocolates and cards for my little girls. They are just as important, loved just as much and cherished so deeply in my soul. I think those advertisers could open up a new marketing page if they started promoting towards families and not just couples.

I do wish you a happy Valentine’s Day. I hope that you find the joy of love in life, whether it’s for yourself (who is most important) for your partner or for your family. Love is a blessing and the best part of all, it’s free.

4 thoughts on “Love & Life

  1. RaeAnne,
    Couldn’t agree with you more…and just wait until you hold your daughter’s daughter in your arms…heart expansion beyond belief! Love comes in so many packages…what a delight to open them!

  2. Good post. I wish you and your family all the happiness in the world. I am single without children and at my age won’t be having any but that’s okay. I don’t feel like I’ve missed out on anything – I have just chosen a different path.

Leave a Reply

